WGU Night Owl Blog Blog Home RSS Feed

Job Search Help with new Career Compass Series

4/05/2012 4:21 pm

WGU Logo

WGU’s Alumni and Career Services is proud to present a new webinar series called Career Compass that will help orient you to your job search and get you started in the right direction—with confident steps.

The WGU Career Compass is a webinar series that covers resume writing, interviewing, and networking. The remaining half-hour webinars will be held on three Tuesdays in April 2012 at two different times—at 10 a.m. and 7 p.m. MT. Students and graduates are welcome to select from among the webinars that relate to their career needs or attend all four webinars.

The remaining webinars in the Career Compass series are:

  • Write a Winning Resume (Tuesday, April 10, 2012)

    Are you sending out your resume but not getting called for the interview? Your resume might need some fine-tuning to turn it into a powerful marketing tool. Learn the important do’s and don’ts of resume writing and how to design a resume that showcases your unique competencies.

    Morning Session: noon–12:30 p.m. ET, 11–11:30 a.m. CT, 10–10:30 a.m. MT, 9–9:30 a.m. PT
    Evening Session: 9–9:30 p.m. ET, 8–8:30 p.m. CT, 7–7:30 p.m. MT, and 6–6:30 p.m. PT


  • Strategic Interviewing (Tuesday, April 17, 2012)

    How do you convince an employer that you really are the best person for the job? Come learn the art and science of strategic interviewing. This workshop will provide tools and techniques to succeed in your interviews, including information on behavioral interviewing.

    Morning Session: noon–12:30 p.m. ET, 11–11:30 a.m.CT, 10–10:30 a.m. MT, 9–9:30 a.m. PT
    Evening Session: 9–9:30 p.m. ET, 8–8:30 p.m. CT, 7–7:30 p.m. MT, and 6–6:30 p.m. PT


  • The Art of Networking (Tuesday, April 24, 2012)

    The job of your dreams may already exist in your network! Learn how to create the network you need to get the job you really want. This workshop will cover a broad range of networking techniques and strategies.

    Morning Session: noon–12:30 p.m. ET, 11–11:30 a.m. CT, 10–10:30 a.m. MT, 9–9:30 a.m. PT
    Evening Session: 9–9:30 p.m. ET, 8–8:30 p.m. CT, 7–7:30 p.m. MT, and 6–6:30 p.m. PT

Request Information