M.S. Information Security and Assurance Courses

WGU offers degrees, not classes. As a competency-based online university, progress through your degree program is determined by demonstrating your competence through carefully designed assessments and completion of a professional portfolio, capstone, or both. As a student in this program, you will complete the courses listed below in order to graduate. These courses are required. Each course contains a study guide and recommended learning resources for you to use while completing said assessment. Your assigned mentor will help guide you through the process.

For ease of understanding, WGU has assigned competency units to each of its courses as indicated below. A competency unit is equivalent to a semester credit hour of learning. WGU terms are six months in length. During a typical term, students will be expected to complete at least 8 to 9 competency units. Grades are assigned on a Pass/Not Pass basis; a “Pass” at WGU is equivalent to a letter grade of “B" or better.

Speak to an Enrollment Counselor for more information about these courses.

CourseCompetency Units
Current and Emerging Technology3
Cyberlaw, Regulations, and Compliance3
Hacking Countermeasures and Techniques2
Ethical Hacking3
Vulnerability Assessment2
Forensics and Network Intrusion3
Security Policies and Standards - Best Practices3
Risk Management2
Disaster Recovery Planning, Prevention and Response2
Information Security and Assurance Capstone Project4