Skip to content Skip to Live Chat


ISACA Certifications

What is ISACA?

ISACA is a global association dedicated to advancing the knowledge and skills of individual IT professionals and entire IT organizations. For over five decades, it has offered education and certification in various IT-related fields—primarily information security and information assurance. It became a reliable source for archiving information during a time where data began being processed electronically, and it continues as such in today’s digital data landscape.

What Does ISACA Stand for?

ISACA stands for the Information Systems Audit and Control Association. This association is known for offering several reputable IT certifications in addition to various other resources, training programs, and membership opportunities.

What ISACA Certifications Are There?

ISACA provides eight professional certifications:

  • CISA—Certified Information Systems Auditor
  • CISM—Certified Information Security Manager
  • CRISC—Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control
  • CGEIT—Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT
  • CDPSE—Certified Data Privacy Solutions Engineer
  • CET—Certified in Emerging Technology Certification
  • ITCA—Information Technology Certified Associate
  • CSX-P—CSX Cybersecurity Practitioner Certification

Learn About IT Degrees

WGU offers the CISM certification in its Master’s of Science in Cybersecurity and Information Assurance (MSCSIA) program..


The ISACA CISM certification is designed to give IT professionals the skills needed to advance to information security management roles. These roles include leading teams in information security governance, risk management, and incident management. An ideal candidate for this certification is one aspiring to a mid- to upper-level management position with increased responsibility and pay.

CISM Preparation

ISACA offers a range of study materials for the CISM certification exam on their website. WGU’s MSCSIA program also helps prepare students for the exam through industry-aligned courses.


The CISM exam costs $575 for ISACA members and $760 for nonmembers. Once registered for the exam, you have 12 months to take it. Once acquired, the CISM certification remains valid as long as you earn a minimum of 20 Continuing Professional Education units (CPEs) each year and a total of 120 CPEs over a three-year period.

CISM Salary

Those who earn their CISM certification make an average annual salary of $149,000, with about 42% of certification holders receiving a pay boost.

FAQs about ISACA and CISM Certifications

It depends on your personal goals and budget, but ISACA has a decades-long history of providing hundreds of thousands of IT professionals with career-defining certifications. Plus, becoming a member of ISACA allows for certification exam discounts.

Most ISACA certifications cost $575 for members and $760 for nonmembers. CET certification exams cost $120 for members and $144 for nonmembers. ITCA certification exams cost $120 for members and $150 for nonmembers.

ISACA certifications expire if you don’t earn the requisite CPEs.

CISM stands for Certified Information Security Manager.

CISM certification has been shown to increase average annual salary and improve on-the-job performance

CISM certification lasts indefinitely, provided you meet the ISACA-defined criteria—earning a minimum of 20 Continuing Professional Education units (CPEs) each year and a total of 120 CPEs over a three-year period.

WGU IT Certifications
Each WGU IT degree comes with top industry certifications at no extra cost.